National Photography Prize 2024

The National Photography Prize 2024 finalists include leading Australian artists and collectives Alex Walker & Daniel O’Toole, Ali McCann, Ali Tahayori, Ellen Dahl, Ioulia Panoutsopoulos, Izabela Pluta, Kai Wasikowski, Nathan Beard, Olga Svyatova, Rebecca McCauley & Aaron Claringbold, Sammy Hawkerand Skye Wagner.

Selected by an expert panel comprising Bala Starr, Director, La Trobe Art Institute, Bendigo, Tiyan Baker, 2022 National Photography Prize Winner, and Nanette Orly, Curator, Murray Art Museum Albury, the finalists’ works traverse numerous themes and concepts including the environment and its degradation, family histories and connection to place, as well as spanning diverse photographic practices from large-scale installations, collages and assemblages, archival and chemical, to more intimate moments.

Established in 1983, the biennial acquisitive Prize offers a unique opportunity to consider the vital role of photography in contemporary art in Australia.

The Prize brings together artists from across the nation who are pushing the boundaries of photographic practice, expanding and developing existing languages and techniques.

23 March—1 September