Daniel O’Shane wins the 2016 National Works on Paper Prize


A relative newcomer to the art scene, Cairns-based artist Daniel O’Shane has won the National Works on Paper Prize with his piece Aib Ene Zogo ni Pat (Story of Aib and the sacred waterhole).

Chosen from sixty-six shortlisted artists, O’Shane’s award-winning, intricate vinyl cut and hand-coloured watercolour piece depicts the story of a man who after stealing the sacred water from a izerr (bailer shell), bursts and forms the largest of three natural springs on Darnley Island in the Torres Straits. 

Lily Mae Martin was awarded the Ursula Hoff Institute Emerging Artist Acquisitive Award for her work Wrestling three.

Established in 1998, the role of the Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery’s $50,000 National Works on Paper Prize is to support and promote contemporary Australian artists working on or with paper – providing a survey of work where traditional approaches to working with paper, along with works that use technological mediums, are challenged and explored.

Previous winners of the prize have included Jess Johnson, Richard Lewer, Lisa Roet and eX de Medici.

This year’s judging panel consisted of Kirsty Grant, Director and CEO of the Heide Museum of Modern Art; Roger Butler, Senior Curator, Australian Prints and Drawings, National Gallery of Australia and Jane Alexander, Director of the Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery.

An exhibition of all the finalists’ work is currently showing at the Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery in Victoria until 11 September.


National Works on Paper Prize
Mornington Peninsula Regional Gallery
16 July – 11 September


News Words by