Artists Revealed for 21st Biennale of Sydney


The first 21 artists have been announced for the 21st Biennale of Sydney.

2018 marks the 45th exhibition anniversary of the Biennale of Sydney (BoS). Since beginning in 1973, the event has displayed the work of over 1800 artists and the 21st Biennale is set to revisit the exhibition’s rich and interesting history.

Taking place from March to June next year, over 70 artists are expected to participate in the 21st Biennale. The first 21 announced include internationally renowned artists Ai Weiwei (China), Haegue Yang (Korea), Laurent Grasso (France), Eija-Liisa Ahtila (Finland), and Rika Noguchi (Japan).

BoS 2018 artistic director Mami Kataoka, explains that the 21st Biennale “will explore multiple viewpoints in search of a state of equilibrium.”

While the first group of artists revealed may hint towards certain curatorial themes, Kataoka is careful to note that the BoS 2018 will not be restrictive in its scope. As she says, “Rather than focusing on a specific concept or theme, the exhibition will suggest multi-layered perspectives of the world and its histories simultaneously.”

The first 21 BoS 2018 artists are: Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Ai Weiwei, Brook Andrew, Oliver Beer, Anya Gallaccio, Laurent Grasso, N.S. Harsha, Mit Jai Inn, Kate Newby, Noguchi Rika, Nguyen Trinh Thi, Ciara Phillips, Koji Ryui, Semiconductor (a duo featuring Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt), Yasmin Smith, George Tjungurrayi, Nicole Wong, Wong Hoy Cheong, Yukinori Yanagi, Haegue Yang and Jun Yang.

The title of the 21s Biennale of Sydney will be announced in July. The full list of artists will follow in October.  

21st Biennale of Sydney
Various venues across Sydney
16 March – 11 June 2018

News Words by Tiarney Miekus