24th Biennale of Sydney announces theme and first 39 participants

Today the Biennale of Sydney announced the theme for the 2024 exhibition: Ten Thousand Suns, along with the first 39 participants. The festival is set to run from 9 March to 10 June 2024.

The program spans numerous locations that are yet to be confirmed, but organisers have announced a new partnership with Phoenix Central Park in Chippendale, stating that, “A program of contemporary music will be presented alongside the exhibition, responding to the works on display and complementing the theme.”

Artistic Directors Cosmin Costinaș and Inti Guerrero say, “Next year’s Biennale works across time periods, beyond the borders separating cultural practices rooted in different genealogies, and from all continents. The exhibition owes a profound debt to the rich heritage of what is known today as Australia, especially to the struggles and practices in which First Nations communities and migrants have faced and played key roles. 

“The 24th Biennale of Sydney will invoke a spirit of abundance and generosity as powerful political tools and resist the mainstream mindsets of perpetual crisis that often lead to inaction. This edition revisits legacies of collective resistance, strength, and exuberance, embracing a more hopeful and joyful outlook, while celebrating the exhibition as a carnival of rays and radiance, aptly titled Ten Thousand Suns.”

Anne Samat, Never Walk In Anyone’s Shadow (2023), rattan sticks, kitchen and garden utensils, beads, ceramic, metal and plastic ornaments, 365.75 x 731.5 x 25.5 cm. Photographer: Brian Holcombe. Courtesy of the artist and Marc Straus, New York.

24th Biennale of Sydney: Ten Thousand Suns
Multiple locations
9 March—10 June 2024

The first 39 participants announced as part of the 24th Biennale of Sydney (2024) are:
Adebunmi Gbadebo (USA)
Alberto Pitta (Brazil)
Andrew Thomas Huang (USA)
Anne Samat (Malaysia)
Bonita Ely (Australia)
Christopher Myers (USA)
Citra Sasmita (Indonesia)
Darrell Sibosado (Bard/Noongar, Australia)
Doreen Chapman (Manyjilyjarra, Australia)
Eisa Jocson (Philippines)
Elyas Alavi (Hazara, Afghanistan / Australia)
Francisco Toledo (Mexico)
Freddy Mamani (The Plurinational State of Bolivia)
Hayv Kahraman (Iraq / Sweden / USA)
Idas Losin (Truku/Atayal, Taiwan)
I Gusti Ayu Kadek Murniasih (Murni) (Indonesia)
Li Jiun-Yang (Taiwan)
John Pule (Niue / Aotearoa New Zealand)
Kaylene Whiskey (Yankunytjatjara, Australia)
Kirtika Kain (India / Australia)
Marie-Claire Messouma Manlanbien (France)
Ming Wong (Singapore / Germany)
Nádia Taquary (Brazil)
Nikau Hindin, Ebonie Fifita-Laufilitoga-Maka, Hina Puamohala Kneubuhl, Hinatea Colombani, Kesaia Biuvanua (Te Rarawa; Ngāpuhi, Aotearoa New Zealand; Fungamapitoa, Tonga, Aotearoa New Zealand; Kihalaupoe, Maui, Hawai‘i; ‘Arioi, Tahiti; Moce, Lau, Fiji)
Orquideas Barrileteras (Guatemala)
Özgür Kar (Turkey / Netherlands)
Pacific Sisters (Aotearoa New Zealand)
Pauletta Kerinauia (Miyartuwi (Pandanus), Tiwi Islands, Australia)
Sachiko Kazama (Japan)
Satch Hoyt (UK / Jamaica)
Segar Passi (Meriam Mir / Dauareb, Torres Strait Islands, Australia)
Serwah Attafuah (Ashanti, Australia)
Tracey Moffatt (Australia)
Trevor Yeung (China / Hong Kong)
Udeido Collective (West Papua)
VNS Matrix (Australia)
William Strutt (UK)
William Yang (Australia)
Yangamini (Tiwi; Gulumirrgin; Warlpiri; Kunwinjku; Yolŋu; Wardaman; Karajarri; Gurindji; Burarra, Australia)

News Words by Art Guide Australia