Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries

The Australian Tapestry Workshop Kate Derum Award was established to honour Kate’s memory and her significant contribution to tapestry as former deputy director and weaver. The award celebrates Kate as an accomplished artist, respected teacher, avid supporter of the ATW and ambassador to Australian tapestry. The award is open to all professional Australian and international tapestry artists. These awards are generously supported by Susan Morgan in memory of Kate Derum, and Alayne and Alan Davies in memory of their mother Irene Davies through the Tapestry Foundation of Australia. 

Kate Derum Award: A non-acquisitive award of $5 000 AUD.

Irene Davies Emerging Artist’s Award: A non-acquisitive award of $1 000 AUD (for artists in the first five years of their professional practice).

Judges: Emeritus Professor Kay Lawrence AM, Emeritus Professor, School of Art, Architecture & Design, University of South Australia, Board of Directors, Australian Tapestry Workshop, tapestry weaver; Dr Kevin Murray, Adjunct Professor, RMIT University, Research Fellow, University of Melbourne, craft writer and curator; Dr Rebecca Coates, Director SAM (Shepparton Art Museum), Honorary Fellow, School of Culture and Communications, University of Melbourne, curator and writer.

In association with these awards we will be running our annual Tapestry Masterclass on the same day as the opening night. Develop and Strengthen your Woven Voice will be run by master weaver Marie Cook on the 7th and 8th of August 2017. Book Here: https://www.austapestry.com.au/whats-on/classes-workshops.

9 Aug - 29 Sep

Australian Tapestry Workshop

262-266 Park Street South Melbourne VIC 3205